Four Washington County Library Employees Bestowed Awards by Oregon Library Association

MEDIA RELEASE - For immediate release
Date:  May 6, 2013
Contact: Jodi Nielsen, Senior Program Educator

Four Washington County Library Employees Bestowed Awards by Oregon Library Association

Washington County, Oregon: The Washington County Cooperative Library Services (WCCLS) is pleased to announce four WCCLS librarians were honored at the 2013 Oregon Library Association (OLA) joint conference with the Washington Library Association held last week in Vancouver, Washington.

2013 Oregon Library Association Awards:

Librarian of the Year – This award is given to a professional librarian who has demonstrated excellence in library service in Oregon. Eva Calcagno, Director of the Washington County Cooperative Library Services was the recipient of the award presented by Buzzy Nielsen (Hood River County Library District Director) and Abigail Elder (OLA Past President). Calcagno was recognized for her leadership in developing the new statewide Oregon Library Passport Program which reduces barriers to library services statewide. The Program recognizes that library service ought to mirror the way Oregonians live, work, shop, and play. The underlying premise of the program is that cardholders of legally-established libraries ought to be able to use other legally established libraries and vice versa. Calcagno chaired the OLA committee that designed and promoted the Passport Program which benefits anyone who lives, works or vacations in multiple places throughout the state and would like the ease of borrowing and returning items to and from the most convenient library. “I’m honored to receive this award because it recognizes efforts to build cooperation and sharing among libraries for the improvement of public service. It’s what Washington County libraries have done for nearly 40 years,” says Calcagno. 

OLA President’s Award - Current OLA President Michele Burke presented the award to OLA Past President and Tualatin Public Library Director Abigail Elder. The President’s Award, was presented to Ms. Elder for her leadership of the Association and her grace and selflessness in handling the Association’s leadership transition after the departure of the previous President.

Honorary Lifetime Membership –  Ed House, Beaverton City Library Director, and Steve Skidmore, Siuslaw Public Library District Director, were recognized for their successful careers in Oregon libraries and years of outstanding service to the association. Both House and Skidmore have served OLA in a number of capacities and richly deserve the organization’s thanks and appreciation. Both are planning to retire in 2013. House has been the Director of the Beaverton City Library since 2001. He has shepherded the library though numerous service improvements including the opening of the city's first branch library at Murray Scholls in 2010.

Library Employee of the Year – This award is given to a library employee who is committed to providing excellent library service to the community. The recipient has shown leadership, initiative, and willingness to share skills with the organization. Presented by Annie Lewis (Tualatin Outreach Librarian) to Laurie Mintz, Library Assistant at the Tualatin Public Library, for her generosity, mentoring and work with the Spanish-speaking community. Letters nominating Mintz mentioned her friendliness, creativity, excellent problem solving skills, and her ability to put people at ease.

Other honors bestowed:

Library Supporter of the Year – Presented by Multnomah County Library Director Vailey Oehlke to Brian Wilson, Chairman of the Libraries Yes! Campaign.

Distinguished Service Award – Presented by Faye Chadwell (Oregon State University Librarian and OSU Press Director) to Janet Webster, Head Librarian, OSU Hatfield Marine Science Center.

100th Anniversary - Ms. Burke recognized three Oregon libraries celebrating their 100th anniversaries: Cornelius Public Library, Milton-Freewater Public Library, and Estacada Public Library.

The Washington County Cooperative Library Services (WCCLS) includes: Banks Public Library, Beaverton City Library, Beaverton City Library @ Murray Scholls, Cedar Mill Community Library, Cedar Mill Community Library @ Bethany, Cornelius Public Library, Forest Grove City Library, Garden Home Community Library, Hillsboro Public Libraries (Main and Shute Park), North Plains Public Library, Sherwood Public Library, Tigard Public Library, Tualatin Public Library, and West Slope Community Library. Two specialty libraries are also a part of the Cooperatives library card service — the Oregon College of Art & Craft and the Tuality Health Education Resource Center.